Witnessing the torch’s journey home

Before the Olympics even started, it already set a record. Approximately 90% of Canada’s population has been within a one-hour drive of the Olympic Flame – a first in the history of the games. Surely, a feat not to be taken lightly, as Canada is the largest country (by land mass) in the Americas with our 30 million population spanning close to 10 million km of land, stretching from the Pacific coast, to the Atlantic ocean, and all the way up to the great North Pole. Yes, Canada is truly epic in proportions.

On day 105 of its 106 day trek across my nation, the flame finally hit pavement that I call home. At 6:15pm this evening, amongst the thousands of other patient pilgrims that had come to witness the flame, the little white torch finally made its passage into UBC. As I watched the little orange flame rise from the crowd and seemingly vanish right back into it, I could feel my heart give a little nod to history. It was quick, but it was brilliant.

On my way home on the bus, I saw an elderly man carrying the now extinguished Olympic torch. He pulled up from the curb, got out, and waved the torch triumphantly in the air at us.  I cheered along with the bus load of college students. And as I turned to look back, I could not help but smile at the hundred awe struck faces waving in unison. An anthem of O’ Canada followed. I beamed. There could not be a more worthwhile moment than that.

Leave a comment